What Now? :: Motivational relief for creatives (live interviews)

March 2020: The entertainment industry is heavily impacted by the coronavirus. Since mid March 2020, pretty much everything got shut down for an unknown period of time. Alot of creatives are wondering how to move or what to do. How to generate income to compensate their loss. What Now? is a series that I created to motivate and inspire creatives through Instagram Live (@payfresh). I talk to industry people who give their thoughts and ideas on how to navigate in these times. How they stay mentally and physically healthy and what keeps them inspired and motivated.

July 2020: Since I started the What Now? series, it took off as being more than just providing motivation and inspiration for creatives, everyone tuning in, and watching, is inspired and uplifted. All of my guests so far have been sharing their journeys, their hardships, their failures and successes. But also have been talking about their personal growth, progress and their daily mental and physical health routines.

All Live Talks from the What Now? series can be viewed back on IGTV (except for the first 3).

List of guests:

  1. March 29 – Skeme Richards (DJ) @skemerichards
  2. April 1  – Michael Brigante (comedian) @michaelbrigante
  3. April 2 – Curtis Richardson (songwriter) @richamusikk
  4. April 3 – 4IZE (rapper) @itz4ize_
  5. April 4 – Dae One (producer) @dae_one 
  6. April 5 – Ivy Chanel (singer) @ivychaneltheartist
  7. April 6 – Xavier White (singer) @iamxavierwhite
  8. April 8 – Keyon Harrold (trumpeter, musician) @keyonharrold
  9. April 9 – Mike Thompson (illustrator/visual artist) @miketartworks
  10. April 13 – Llewellyn Radford (actor, motivational speaker) @llewellynradford
  11. April 18 – Cole Wiley (film director, writer, producer) @wolfwiles
  12. April 20 – Mark de Clive-Lowe (producer, DJ) @markdeclivelowe
  13. April 22- Kameron Corvet (singer) @kameroncorvet
  14. April 25 – Chuck Creekmur (journalist) @chuckcreekmur
  15. April 27 – Jay Horn (Film director) @jay.horn.films
  16. April 29 – Tony Tixier (pianist, musician) @tonytixier
  17. April 30 – Massi Furlan (actor) @massifurlan
  18. May 3 – Norman Sosa (comedian) @norman__sosa
  19. May 4 – Sydney G. James (visual artist) @sydneygjames
  20. May 6 – Dubelyoo (visual artist) @dubelyoo
  21. May 9 – Scott Tixier (violinist, musician) @scotttixier
  22. May 11 – RA The Rugged Man (rapper) @ratheruggedmanofficial
  23. May 13 – Malik Yoba (actor) @malikyoba
  24. May 16 – Rabea Ballin (visual artist) @rballin
  25. May 18 – Starling (singer) @starlingsworld
  26. May 25 – Chris Charles (photographer, creative director) @the_chrischarles
  27. May 28 – Marlon Peterson (social justice activist) @_marlonpeterson
  28. May 30 – Sarah-Jane (singer) @sarahjanemusiq
  29. June 1 – Ellis Miah (producer, singer) @ellismiah
  30. June 8 – Halim Flowers (social justice activist, visual artist) @halimflowers
  31. June 10 – Emcee Nice (rapper, producer) @emceenicela
  32. June 15 – Charlie Vox (songwriter, singer) @charlievoxofficial
  33. June 21 – Doumie (singer) @dou_mie
  34. June 24 – Shawnna (rapper) @shawnnaworldwide
  35. June 29 – Shamari Reed (artist manager, A&R, film producer) @iamshamarireed
  36. July 1 – Amadeus (producer) @amadeuspbm
  37. July 6 – Skeme Richards (DJ) – follow up @skemerichards
  38. July 8 – Amadeus (producer) pt 2 @amadeuspbm
  39. July 8 – Amadeus (producer) pt 3 @amadeuspbm
  40. July 13 – Romeo Johnson (vocal coach, singer) @officialromeoj
  41. July 15 –  Amadeus (producer) pt 4 @amadeuspbm
  42. July 20 – J. Hatch (artist manager, entrepreneur) @mogulstatus
  43. July 20 – J. Hatch (artist manager, entrepreneur) pt 2 @mogulstatus
  44. July 22 – Romeo Johnson (vocal coach, singer) pt 2 @officialromeoj
  45. July 29 – Nicolay (producer) @nicolaymusic
  46. Aug 3 –  Brandon Brown (bass player, musician) @pastorfunk

Coming up:

Aug 5 – Tendai Nguni (artist, actor) @trnguni
Aug 10. – Kevin Teasley (music director, composer, sound designer, producer) @kevincteasley
Aug 12 – Sunny Jansen (Fashion DJ, transactivist) @sunny_jansen_
Aug 17 – Chip Fu (artist, motivational speaker) @chipfu
Aug 24 – Wendy Day (entrepreneur, industry professional) @rapcoalition

Freddie Gibbs :: “I’ll F*%K U Up”

13832

The second edition of Woo Hah festival this year had an insane line-up. From new up and coming artists to veterans in the game. One of the artists was someone I have been trying  to talk to for the longest, Freddie Gibbs. Read more

Doomtree :: The Minneapolis Sound

0003863094_10

The second edition of Woo Hah festival this year had an insane line-up. From new up and coming artists to veterans in the game. One of the acts that performed on one of the stages, was a group named Doomtree. Read more

Denzel Curry :: Music Is My Art

sradmq3bbmb6slocqdv7

The second edition of Woo Hah festival this year had an insane line-up. From new up and coming artists to veterans in the game. One of the young rappers that hit the stage goes by the name of Denzel Curry. Read more

EPMD :: Still In Business

11393167_10206924271814944_2257615824508315904_n

I have been a fan of EPMD since I can remember, and it’s crazy to think I actually became friends with these two great MC’s. Throughout the years I have had the pleasure to interview them and hang out with them, seeing them in their element behind and on stage. Read more

M.O.P. :: Staying Relevant

e6d8f3cad6ab60f96c994f9c194f9b2e

The Boogiedown Festival is one that I have been visiting for years and had almost missed it this year. Thanks to the organisation, I still got to be there again, as they always make sure I am aware. This year they gave me the chance to finally meet and talk to the famous Mash Out Posse, better known as M.O.P. consisting of rappers Billy Danze and Lil’ Fame. During our talk, we were joined by Laze Elliot, who definitely had a lot to say as well. Read more

Free The Robots :: Not To Be Boxed In

Free-the-Robots

For the longest I wanted to interview Free The Robots. This producer from California was first introduced to me by my friend Rhettmatic, during a hip hop show in Amsterdam somewhat years ago. Not as a musician though, but as a friend. Read more

Raheem DeVaughn :: Sexually intimidating?

raheem-devaughn-that-grape-juice

In the weekend that I went to visit my big sis in Manchester, UK, I got the chance to talk to soul singer Raheem DeVaughn. The singer had a show out there, and I took the opportunity to see what this guy is all about. Read more

Adrian Younge :: I am Vinyl

10527872_710952635631966_7135995094272314799_n

The, in my opinion, super producer, Adrian Younge, finally stopped by in Amsterdam again. Two years ago I wanted to do an interview but it didn’t happen. This time I got the chance to sit with him and pick his brain about all kind of things. Read more

Yancey Boys :: Frank Nitt & Illa J.

IMG_3457

Frank Nitt and Illa J. are the Yancey Boys together. Last year they dropped their debut album “Sunset Blvd” and finally got to Europe to do a few shows including Amsterdam. Both of these MC’s (and producers) are individually known for several projects they have been working on the past years. Read more